Bio

I was born and raised in Louisville, KY.  I was fortunate enough to have parents that encouraged me to spend time in the woods and to read everything I could get my hands on. Today, the outdoors and the written word are two of my biggest passions.

In 2003, I graduated from the University of Louisville with degrees in history and anthropology and a dream of being an archaeologist. After three amazing years in the field I made the difficult decision to switch careers and transitioned to a job in Corporate America. Since then I have built a diverse resume with one of America’s best known companies, stumbling into one amazing opportunity after another. As an outsider in the business world, I try to offer a unique perspective on workplace culture in my writing and in my work.

What do I write about? I write about the intersection of people and the subjects that fascinate me. I believe that if you look for the human element in every story, something interesting is happening there.

I am married to Kim, who is my best friend, my biggest cheerleader and the love of my life. We live in the suburbs of Louisville, at the place where neighborhoods give ways to farms and forest. We live with our two daughters, two dogs (Murphy and Josie) and a cat named Lola.

I have written for a number of sites over the years. I am a regular contributor and editor for the online magazine Ordinary Times.  I have also written about hunting for Sole AdventureFowled RealityForemost Hunting and Wired to Hunt.

In 2013, I was asked to contribute an essay for the book This I Believe: KentuckyYou can find out more about the book by visiting here.


Disclaimer

This is Mike’s personal website.  The opinions expressed here do not represent those of his employer, or any organization that he is affiliated with. Real names of any and all persons are changed to protect their identities and personal details are altered for privacy reasons when necessary.